love it

I slept in today.  Not the sleeping in where you wake up 10 minutes late and are in a rush the rest of the day, but the sleeping in where you just can’t get your eyes to open up and next thing you know it’s 8:30 a.m. and you are alone in a perfectly quiet house. I am usually a morning person but these kind of sleeping in days are an amazing thing once in a while.

After finally getting out of bed, I ran around the house picking things up, cleaning a few windows and mirrors and then I noticed how perfect it was outside.  So I opened the back door, sat myself down on the couch and stared outside while letting the fresh air drift into my house.  In my heart the leaves are bright orange and falling from trees.  It makes the green leaves and bright sun even more beautiful to me and it is fall to me just as much as if this tree were in my back yard.

I was doing cartwheels in my head with happiness.  I love this time of year.  I know I say it every year but I can’t hardly stand it!  It makes me so happy to know how much we have to be thankful for.  Maybe this year more than others?  Though the little things are just as important as the big ones, if not more in the grand scheme.  I love that the weather is so beautiful.  I love that today my house is filled with fall decor and in a week it will be shifting to Christmas.  I love that we have Thanksgiving the month before Christmas so we can get our hearts in a thankful place from the get go.

Jesse and I ran a few errands yesterday and when we walked into the center court at the mall and saw Santa, I thought Jesse was going to get in a brawl with some elves.  He has since decided he is going to launch a formal protest against Santa being out and about before Thanksgiving.  As an integral part of this protest he believes that the “Santas” should dress up as turkeys and let people tell him what they are thankful for so at least those old guys have jobs through November.

How about that?  If we stood in line to take pictures of our kids being thankful for things instead of asking for things?  Maybe that is a little closer to the holiday spirit anyway.

And that is exactly why I love this time of year.

2 thoughts on “love it

  1. I agree that the Fall is a spectacular time of year. I couldn’t get enough of hikes and drives up the canyon. Absolutely gorgeous colors. I must also say that I loved the idea Jesse had for the mall. That’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

