one down

Yesterday the mail greeted me with unusual kindness.  This little pink guy was suffocating (I am sure) in the mailbox while waiting to sing “Skip to My Lou” for me.  This is the 4th one of these strange looking toys that I own, but the first TINY one.  I love tiny things.  Especially weird, singing tiny things.

I celebrated an anniversary of sorts today.  One year ago we sat in a doctor’s office and were told our world was about to change and we didn’t even understand it. One year ago we spent the day searching the internet for more information.  For answers.

Today, I went through my day thinking about other people who have been here.  People who have not made it to this point.  In the days leading up to today I wondered if I would feel any different, like a child on his birthday hopes to feel “bigger.”  I went about my day like any other day.  I ran errands.  I sewed a couple of aprons.  I made cookies, went grocery shopping, picked up kids… I lived like any other day.

Tomorrow will be another ordinary day.  I will exercise in the morning, (i.e. run, blech!)  I will work on the pink flowers I am making, and maybe do some house cleaning.

The joy I felt when I opened the mail yesterday and saw the little singing toy is the same joy that I felt today.  Sometimes I get grumpy and forget to see the beautiful, tiny gifts that greet us every single day.   With one year down, I sure remembered today.

5 thoughts on “one down

  1. Boy am I grateful that you get to have many more days! You are loved! Thanks for you’re fabulous shared thoughts.

  2. I am so grateful that you are still here Erin! Surely, the last year was a year with so many challenges, but also just as sure that you saw glimpses of Heaven, and miracles in your behalf along the way. Funny how that works, isn’t it? P.S. Never thought I’d hear myself say this…but be grateful that you CAN run. I have had a bout with Plantar Fasciitis for the last few months and can hardly walk on my left foot it is so painful. I have gained almost 15 lbs! Ugh… We need to do lunch sometime…it’s been too long! 🙂

  3. I love your perspective. Anniversary markers like these are bittersweet……memories of what was handed to you and what you’ve been through, along with the knowledge of how far you’ve come and how much you’ve grown. I am amazed at the outlook and faith you have had over the last year, and have been so grateful for your example through it all. You’ve helped me through what I’ve gone through and I thank you for that! So glad you’re feeling well enough to run and do the things you want to do. What a blessing! Here’s to the next year bringing even more health and strength! Heaven knows you deserve it!

Leave a Reply

