sunday

It has only been one week since my last post. One week has been too long. Too much has happened to sum up and yet here I go giving it my best shot.

First off, to answer the million dollar question: No. I do not feel miraculously, amazingly different in the nearly 3 weeks since I gave up sugar. It is not hard. I have not had headaches or withdrawals. Mostly I have noticed that there is sugar in EVERYTHING and that once this “no sugar” business comes to an end I will be implementing a “very little sugar” policy at our house. I wish I had noticed something earth shaking, but I am pretty glad I did not. What that tells me is that I was not, in fact, addicted to sugar and did not eat as much as I had thought. Except the sneaky stuff in bread and salad dressings. Why is that necessary again? I totally am on board with sugar being in cupcakes. That makes sense. But Balsamic Vinagrette dressing??!? Lame.

Next, something a little more serious. My dear friend lost her husband this past week. She has been strong! She has felt peace! She is truly amazing and I am better for knowing her and her husband. Hang in there girl.

Isabel had a rough day on Tuesday.  Poor girl.  She has really had a rough 5th grade experience and I think we finally have some idea what we are going to do about it. Forget school. She is going to drop out and become a tester for door hinges since she has become so proficient at slamming them. I am sure she can break a door off its hinges given then chance. We may as well see if that is a bankable talent. I love that girl. She is full of…something. And of course, this too shall pass.    (right? please?)

I sang in the stake choir today. I have not sung in a choir in years and I am so happy I got the opportunity. Oh yeah. Did I mention Dallin H. Oaks was there? Yeah. Pretty cool stuff. And then I got soaked walking to my car.

Happy Sunday.   Because your Sunday will Come.

3 thoughts on “sunday

  1. I love following your blog. It’s been a hard week for everyone. as for slamming doors yes this passes.kind of I still get the occassional slam but have learned the solution when it gets bad. either remove the door or better for her privacy the door knob. It won’t slam with the door knob off. and even better hugs work wonders. hang in there you’re doing great.

  2. What a great post. You write so well Erin! Love the door hinge tester theory. Let me know how that works out for you.

  3. So sorry to hear about your friend. I am happy that she is doing so well. That is a tremendous blessing. I had a dear friend that also had her husband pass away. She said the first few weeks she had such peace, and felt the Lord helping her along the way. I can’t imagine that kind of loss.

    I am sad that Isabel isn’t having a great experience at school this year. 😦 Poor little thing. Hopefully 6th grade will be more positive.

Leave a Reply

