Lent

First off lets get the title out of the way. I understand my religion does not observe lent. I am going to anyway, sort of. I feel like there are things in all religions that are beneficial and this year it all comes to to one thing.

My name is Erin and I am addicted to sugar. There. Step one. Step two will have something to do with letting my intentions known that I am going to be working on fixing said addiction. We are well on our way to step three which is to take action. (Can you tell I am totally making up these steps as I go? Because I am.)

The first goal I have set for myself is to give up sugar for lent. For my health. For the sake of my poor family, I am sure it helps me be moody. I am a pretty healthy person, I love fruits and veggies. I eat little meat. I don’t inhale mass amounts of processed foods. I just want to take it to the next level and I am shamefully using lent as part of my motivation. Lent came about to help make people better after all. To push people to use self control and discipline, some things I am lacking! So no matter what reason or what you call it, I am ready to tackle some goals. You know the same things most people make at New Years and I resist because I hate knowing I will give up on them? Yeah those.

Here’s to lent. Or no sugar. Or whatever it is.  As well as other goals along the way.

4 thoughts on “Lent

  1. ERIN,
    We have lived here for about nine years. We love it here too and I do not miss the cold weather either! We should totally get together some time! That would be fun!

  2. I’ve given up sugar several times in my life. I always have eventually gone back. I try to keep myself in line now. Everything in moderation. Good for you though. I really did feel healthy and was more fit without the sugar.

Leave a Reply

